Remapping Switzerland with t-SNE

Below, each municipality is represented by a dot in the plot on the right-hand side. On the left, the geographical map of Switzerland depicts the municipalities with a colour that is chosen based on the position in the plot.

Share this page Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+

Explanation

On the right part above, each municipality is shown by a dot. This representation is obtained directly from all the results to national-level issue votes, using a dimensionality reduction technique called t-SNE (for t-distributed stochastic neighbor embedding).

In contrast to principal component analysis as used in the voting patterns, t-SNE enables to capture non-linear relationships present in the voting data. Informally, it captures the relative similarity between municipalities in the data and it tries to keep these similarities in a two-dimensional space. Hence, it is potentially able to reveal more insights in two dimensions and generate the visualization above. However, it lacks the easy interpretability of individual axes.

In line with the principal component analysis, we observe a clustering in voting behavior by the language spoken in each municipality. However, even more remarkable, a finer sub-clustering by canton is also obtained. For example, spot the cluster corresponding to the canton of Bern: the German-speaking municipalities are located on right hand side of the plot and the French-speaking municipalities are located on the left hand side of the plot. First, municipalities of Bern are split by the language spoken and then grouped together within their cantonal sub-cluster. As also apparent in the principal component analysis, the canton of Wallis exhibits a unique voting behavior. It is isolated at the top of the plot, but it is still split according to the two spoken languages.

The drop-down menu allows you to choose the data used to color the dots that represent the municipalities. The most interesting data to look at are the canton a municipality belongs to. To reduce the number of elements in the legend, it is possible to choose only cantons that speak a specific language.

On the left hand side above, the color of each municipality is directly determined by its position in the two-dimensional space on the right side.

Remapping Switzerland with t-SNE

Ci-dessous, chaque commune est représentée par un point dans le graphique de droite. À gauche, la carte géographique de la Suisse représente les communes coloriées en fonction de leur position dans le graphique.

Partager cette page Partager sur Facebook Partager sur Twitter Partager sur Google+

Explications

Dans la partie de droite ci-dessus, chaque point correspond à une commune. Cette représentation est obtenue à partir de l’ensemble des résultats (le pourcentage de « oui ») par commune et par votation nationale via une technique de réduction de dimension appelée algorithme de t-SNE.

Contrairement à l’analyse en composantes principales telle qu’utilisée dans les habitudes de vote, l’algorithme de t-SNE permet de capturer des relations non-linéaires dans les données. De manière informelle, l’algorithme capture la similarité relative entre les communes du jeu de données et tente de préserver ces similarités dans une espace à deux dimensions. Il révèle ainsi d’autres tendances de vote en deux dimensions, telles que montrées dans la visualisation ci-dessus. Il est néanmoins difficile d’interpréter facilement les deux axes.

En accord avec l’analyse en composantes principales, on observe un regroupement par langue des communes. Cependant, et d’autant plus remarquable, un sous-regroupement plus fin par canton est également obtenu. Par exemple, repérez les points correspondant au canton de Berne : les communes germanophones se trouvent à droite du graphique, alors que les communes francophones se trouvent à gauche. Les communes de Berne sont ainsi d’abord séparées par langue, puis groupée dans leur sous-groupe cantonal. Conformément à l’analyse en composantes principales, le Valais, isolé en haut du graphique, présente un comportement unique de vote. Il est néanmoins séparé en deux groupes en fonction de la langue de chaque commune.

Le menu déroulant permet de sélectionner quelle donnée utiliser pour colorier les points correspondant aux communes. Le plus intéressant est d’examiner le canton appartenant à chaque commune. Pour réduire le nombre d’éléments de la légende, il est possible de sélectionner uniquement les cantons d’un certain groupe linguistique.

Dans la partie de gauche ci-dessus, la couleur de chaque commune est déterminée en fonction de sa position dans l’espace bi-dimensionnel à droite.